AAWCC Chapter

AAWCC LogoThe AAWCC was organized in 1973 and is a council member of the American Association of Community Colleges. The organization offers opportunities for women in two-year institutions by providing a forum that addresses women’s issues and acknowledges women’s achievements.

In 2015, Onondaga Community College established a local chapter of AAWCC. The purposes of the organization are:

  • Encourage personal and professional development for women in community, junior, and technical colleges.
  • Support women in leadership roles.
  • Develop communications among women in community, junior, and technical colleges.
  • Promote and offer workshops for women in community, junior, and technical colleges.
  • Share information on courses, programs, and services of interest to the membership.

AAWCC Group Photo

Additional Information

Membership Requirements

Membership at both local and national levels is open to any OCC employee, retiree, alumna/alumnus, or student employed at or enrolled in OCC and people who support the purpose of OCC. Members of the AAWCC-OCC Chapter are encouraged, but by no means obligated, to participate in events and activities hosted by the chapter. Participation in planning committees is also encouraged in efforts to provide the most rewarding programs and personal development experiences to members. If you are interested in becoming a member please contact Membership Committee Chair Lee Berg or Co-Chair Kelly Kaminski.

AAWCC Member Application

Officer and Committee Chair Contacts

President - Steffani Williams, [email protected] 

President-Elect - Kerry Evans, [email protected]  

Secretary - Meghan Peryea, [email protected]

Treasurer - Sarah Gaffney, [email protected]

Communication/Public Relations Chair - Michele Amodio,  [email protected]

Communication& Public Relations Co-Chair – Erin Woods,  [email protected]

Membership& Recruitment ChairLee Berg, [email protected]

Membership& Recruitment Co-Chair – Kelly Kaminski, [email protected]

Professional Development Committee Chairs - Caroline Bice, [email protected]and Katherine Rumrill-Teece, [email protected]

Professional Development CommitteeCo-Chair – Lisa Miller, [email protected]

Events and Outreach Chair – ErinVaccaro,  [email protected]

Events and Outreach Co-Chair - Devon Knapp, [email protected]