Handgun Safety Course

Learn before you load.  Arm yourself with knowledge including:

  • important information about permit requirements
  • legal responsibilities
  • and cleaning
  • safe storage and childproofing.

Learn from experienced NYS DCJS certified Firearms Instructors in this one-time, four (4) hour safety course. Fulfills requirements for obtaining a pistol permit in Onondaga, Cayuga, Madison, Oswego & Seneca counties; residents of other counties should verify with their Sheriff's Office if course is accepted.  Call 315-498-6042 for more information.

Do not bring firearms to this class! No other materials are needed for this class.

Register online - Or if you prefer to register by mail / fax / email, download the Summer / Fall '17 Registration Form. Please note: we cannot accept registrations or payments by phone.

Payment for course can be made via check (payable to OCC; mailed with registration form), in person at OCC Student Accounts office, or online @ www.pay.sunyocc.edu.

Handgun Safety Courses are held at various locations around Central New York. Classes may be taken at OCC Main Campus - Mulroy HallOCC North Site, Liverpool or at the Community Room in the Fingerlakes Mall, Auburn.

Main Campus classes are held in the Mulroy Hall building; a stand-alone brick building, located across the street from the entrance to the OCC main campus area, on Route 173; the physical address for the building is:
4926 Onondaga Rd
Syracuse, NY 13215

PLEASE NOTE: In the event of OCC closing due to inclement weather, any Handgun Safety classes scheduled that day are also cancelled. The class will be rescheduled and all students will be called regarding the new date. 

Course Prefix & #: HGS.CE-001
Title: Handgun Safety 
Tuition: $49

  Term   Section Name   Day   Date of Class   Time   Location Reg Deadline
CE17SU HGS.ce-001-011 Sat August 5, 2017 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 8/2/17
CE17SU HGS.ce-001-012 Wed August 9, 2017 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 8/1/17
CE17SU HGS.ce-001-013 Sat August 19, 2017 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 8/16/17
CE17SU HGS.ce-001-014 Wed August 23, 2017 6:00-10:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 8/20/17
CE17SU HGS.ce-001-015 Wed August 30, 2017 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 8/23/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-001 Wed September 13, 2017 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 9/10/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-002 Sat September 16, 2017 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 9/13/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-003 Mon September 18, 2017 5:30-9:30pm
OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 9/15/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-004 Wed September 27, 2017 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 9/20/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-005 Sat September 30, 2017 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 9/27/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-006 Sat October 7, 2017 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 10/4/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-007 Wed October 18, 2017 5:30-9:30pm
OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 10/15/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-008 Sat October 21, 2017 9:00am-1:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 10/18/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-009 Mon October 23, 2017 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 10/18/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-010 Wed October 25, 2017 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 10/18/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-011 Sat November 4, 2017 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 11/1/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-012 Wed November 8, 2017 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 11/5/17
CE17FA HGS.ce-001-013 Mon November 13, 2017 5:30-9:30pm
OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 11/10/17

Tuition: $49

* Get directions to these locations.