Handgun Safety Course

Learn before you load.  Arm yourself with knowledge including:

  • important information about permit requirements
  • legal responsibilities
  • and cleaning
  • safe storage and childproofing.

Learn from experienced NYS DCJS certified Firearms Instructors in this one-time, four (4) hour safety course. Fulfills requirements for obtaining a pistol permit in Onondaga, Cayuga, Madison, Oswego & Seneca counties; residents of other counties should verify with their Sheriff's Office if course is accepted.  Call 315-498-6042 for more information.

Do not bring firearms to this class! No other materials are needed for this class.

Register online - Or if you prefer to register by mail / fax / email, download the Spring '18 Registration Form. Please note: we cannot accept registrations or payments by phone.

Payment for course can be made via check (payable to OCC; mailed with registration form), in person at OCC Student Accounts office (in Gordon Student Center), or online @ www.pay.sunyocc.edu.

Handgun Safety Courses are held at various locations around Central New York. Classes may be taken at OCC Main Campus - Mulroy HallOCC North Site, Liverpool or at the Community Room in the Fingerlakes Mall, Auburn.

Main Campus classes are held in the Mulroy Hall building; a stand-alone brick building, located across the street from the entrance to the OCC main campus area, on Route 173; the physical address for the building is:
4926 Onondaga Rd
Syracuse, NY 13215

PLEASE NOTE: In the event of OCC closing due to inclement weather, any Handgun Safety classes scheduled that day are also cancelled. The class will be rescheduled and all students will be called regarding the new date when the campus reopens. 

Course Prefix & #: HGS.CE-001
Title: Handgun Safety 
Tuition: $49

  Term   Section Name   Day   Date of Class   Time   Location Reg Deadline
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-009 Wed April 25, 2018 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 4/18/18
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-010 Sat April 28, 2018 8:00-12:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 4/25/18
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-011 Thur May 3, 2018 5:30-9:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 4/30/18
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-012 Wed May 9, 2018 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 5/6/18
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-013 Sat May 19, 2018 8:00-12:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 5/16/18
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-014 Sat May 26, 2018 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, R124 5/23/18
CE18SP HGS.ce-001-015 Wed May 30, 2018 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 5/23/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-001 Wed June 6, 2018 5:30-9:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 6/3/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-002 Sat June 9, 2018 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 6/6/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-003 Tues June 12, 2018 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 6/10/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-004 Sat June 23, 2018 8:00-12:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 5/30/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-005 Wed June 27, 2018 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 6/20/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-006 Mon July 9, 2018 5:30-9:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 7/6/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-007 Wed July 11, 2018 5:00-9:00pm OCC – North Site, Liverpool 7/8/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-008 Sat July 14, 2018 8:00-12:00pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 7/11/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-009 Sat July 21, 2018 8:30am-12:30pm OCC – Mulroy Hall, TBD 7/18/18
CE18SU HGS.ce-001-010 Wed July 25, 2018 5:30-9:30pm Fingerlakes Mall – Auburn 7/18/18

Tuition: $49

* Get directions to these locations.