Naples Elected Chair of Board of Trustees

Allen NaplesThe Onondaga Community College Board of Trustees has elected Allen J. Naples as Chairman, effective July 1, 2012. In addition, the Board re-elected Steven F. Aiello as Vice Chair and Edward J. Heinrich as Secretary.

Naples is Senior Vice President and Regional President of the Central New York Region for M&T Bank. Before joining M&T Bank in 2005 he worked for HSBC Bank for 23 years. He also serves in board and executive roles on CenterState CEO, New York State Business Development Corporation, Onondaga Community College Foundation, Syracuse Research Corporation, and Say Yes to Education. He was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2011 by Onondaga County Executive Joanne Mahoney. Naples resides in Fayetteville.

Aiello is president of COR Development Company, LLC, and an alumnus of Onondaga Community College and Niagara University. He was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2008 by Governor David Paterson. Aiello is a resident of Fayetteville.

Heinrich is a veteran administrator in secondary and higher education. His experience includes teaching and serving as an administrator with the Marcellus Central School District, and 14 years serving as campus director of Bryant & Stratton College in Syracuse. Heinrich was appointed Regional Director for New York State Office of Parks and Historic Preservation by Governor George Pataki. He was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2008 by County Executive Joanne Mahoney. Heinrich resides in Marcellus.

Naples replaces Margaret M. “Meg” O’Connell, who resigned as chairman to become the College’s Interim President. The former President, Debbie L. Sydow, Ph.D., is the new president of Richard Bland College in Petersburg, Virginia. 

A nationwide search for the next president of Onondaga Community College is underway. It is being conducted by Lochlin Partners of McLean, Virginia.